COHESIVELY ENHANCING CAPACITY OF ASEAN COMMUNITY STATISTICAL SYSTEM TO BE MORE RESPONSIVE TO GREATER DATA NEEDS                                                                                                                                                                           CELEBRATING 10 YEARS OF THE ASEAN COMMUNITY STATISTICAL SYSTEM


1. Establishment:

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established on the 8th August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the founding members  of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

Brunei Darussalam joined in 1984. Viet Nam became the 7th member on the 28th July 1995. Lao DPR and Myanmar entered ASEAN on the 23rd July 1997. Cambodia became the 10th member of ASEAN on the 30th April 1999, fulfilling the dream of ASEAN that includes all Southeast Asian countries.

2. Aims and Purposes: 

As set out in the ASEAN Declaration (or Bangkok Declaration) in 1967, the objectives and purposes of ASEAN are:

- To accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region through joint endeavors in the spirit of equality and partnership in order to strengthen the foundation for a prosperous and peaceful community of Southeast Asian Nations;

To promote regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law in the relationship among countries of the region and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter;

- To promote active collaboration and  mutual assistance on matters of common interest in the economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific and administrative fields;

- To provide assistance to each other in the form of training and research  facilities in the educational, professional, technical and administrative spheres;

- To collaborate more effectively for the greater utilization of their agriculture and industries, the expansion of trade, including the study of the problems of international commodity trade, the improvement of their transportation and communication facilities and the raising of the living standards of their peoples;

- To promote Southeast Asian studies; and

- To maintain close and beneficial cooperation with existing international and regional organizations with similar aims and purposes, and explore all avenues for even closer cooperation among themselves.

The motto of ASEAN is “One Vision, One Identity, One Community”.

3. Fundamental principles:

In their relations with one another, the ASEAN Member States have adopted the following fundamental principles, as contained in the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia (TAC) of 1976: 

- Mutual respect for the independence, sovereignty, equality, territorial integrity, and national identity of all nations;

- The right of every State to lead its national existence free from external interference, subversion or coercion;

- Non-interference in the internal affairs of one another;

- Settlement of differences or disputes by peaceful manner;

- Renunciation of the threat or use of force; and

- Effective cooperation among themselves.


4. ASEAN development timeline: 


Foundation of ASEAN with 5 member states


The 1st ASEAN Summit


Accession of Brunei


Establishment of ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF)


Signing of Agreement Frameworks on strengthening ASEAN economic cooperation and ASEAN Free Trade Agreement (AFTA)


Accession of Viet Nam


Laos and Myanmar to join ASEAN


The 1st ASEAN+3 Summit


Accession of Cambodia


The 1st East Asia Summit (EAS)


Launch of ASEAN Charter


Formation of ASEAN Community


5.  ASEAN Flag

The ASEAN Flag is a symbol of Member States’ unity and support for the principles and endeavours of ASEAN and is a means to promote greater ASEAN awareness and solidarity.

The ASEAN Flag represents a stable, peaceful, united and dynamic ASEAN. The colours of the Flag – blue, red, white and yellow – represent the main colours of the flags of all the ASEAN Member States.

The blue represents peace and stability. Red depicts courage and dynamism, white shows purity and yellow symbolises prosperity.

The stalks of padi in the centre of the Emblem represent the dream of ASEAN’s Founding Fathers for an ASEAN comprising all the countries in Southeast Asia, bound together in friendship and solidarity.

The circle represents the unity of ASEAN.